7 November 2011

Disaster Preparedness and the Public Health Agenda webinar


Event status:Not started (Register)

Click here to go to the Webex page
with the webinar details
Date and time:Tuesday, 8 November 2011 14:00
GMT Time (London, GMT) 
Tuesday, 8 November 2011 9:00
Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00)
Tuesday, 8 November 2011 17:00
Saudi Arabia Time (Riyadh, GMT+03:00)
Tuesday, 8 November 2011 22:00
Singapore Time (Singapore, GMT+08:00)
Panelist(s) Info:
Dr. John Ashton CBE, Director of Public Health and County Medical Officer, UK

Organised by the University of Liverpool, England, UK
Duration:1 hour
Description:
Join this exclusive webinar on disaster preparedness and the public health agenda. Dr. John Ashton CBE, Director of Public Health and County Medical Officer, will discuss the role of the public health profession in the preparation, management, and response to disasters, critical, and major incidents; and the need for a multidisciplinary approach to disaster preparedness.

His presentation will explore:
  • The need for a multidisciplinary and multiagency approach to disaster preparedness in a global and local context
  • The current response to disaster preparedness at a global level
  • The role of public health in disaster management
  • Community impact of disasters, critical, and major incidents; and the subsequent recovery phase
  • How contingency planning and disaster preparedness has evolved; and how can we learn from our experiences